Rogue Knights AC Boards

We kick Bobo's Ass!
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 4:44 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: in game feedback
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:24 pm  
User avatar

Rogue Knight
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 1:08 pm
Posts: 152
Location: NY USA
Offline

Need a lil tech advice here. MY wife got me more RAM for my desktop, went in fine and everything seems normal. Only problem is everynow and the i get a lil feedback which will stall me for a few seconds and not so nice noise. i went from 256mb to 1280mb. I added the 1 gig to the free slot i had, should i put it in the first slot or it doesnt matter? doesnt affect me ig that much just very annoying when it does happen. only thing i have found so far on this was how to install

_________________
Zhava sword
Kagray bow/alchemy/cook
Davvi Drumheller mage
Lemmy tinker in training
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 6:34 pm  
Rogue Knight
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 2:13 pm
Posts: 235
Offline

You should match all your RAM, you shouldn't use a 1 gig chip and a 256 chip togeather.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 12:37 am  
User avatar

Rogue Knight
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 1:08 pm
Posts: 152
Location: NY USA
Offline

never realized i needed like amouts for ram, just same speed :scratch: 'll try removing the 256 one and see what happens, TY :hiding:

_________________
Zhava sword
Kagray bow/alchemy/cook
Davvi Drumheller mage
Lemmy tinker in training
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 9:18 am  
User avatar

Rogue Knight
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 1:08 pm
Posts: 152
Location: NY USA
Offline

well i removed the 256 one and put the 1gig in the primary slot, still had feedback or whatever, i put the 256 back in the secondary and will just suffer and grumble to liquidiamond when she gets back from her mom.

_________________
Zhava sword
Kagray bow/alchemy/cook
Davvi Drumheller mage
Lemmy tinker in training
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:11 pm  
User avatar

Techno Vixen & Dustbunny Assassin
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 10:01 am
Posts: 665
Location: Playing with the hardware
Offline

Do you know what brand/model motherboard you have there (or model of comp if you bought a prebuilt, like HP or Dell)? Also what type/brand of memory (and where'd she buy?? store?? ebay?? etc.)

And what do you mean by "noise?" Like your sound stuttering?? Or something in the CASE making noise?

A couple ideas...different memory modules may run at diff. frequencies...that 1 gig stick might have just enough difference for your comp to run, but still have a hissy-fit LOL

Sometimes you can go into your BIOS and adjust, but it depends on the motherboard (and if you even dare to go there LOL).

Also, if it's a lil' older, it could have an issue w/larger memory.

High density chips on the memory are also an issue for stability...they aren't compatible with alot of mobo's (some won't even read them, or they're read them wrong, or comp freezes up).

_________________
Keeper of the Cutie Key, and the Oregano jars.
Connoisseur of Computerized CRACK!!!
I like spooning w/a certain big hairy drudge =P
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:52 pm  
User avatar

Chief Cook & Bottle Washer
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 12:15 pm
Posts: 412
Offline

Girl Geek! :alien:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 4:26 pm  
User avatar

The Boob Whisperer
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Posts: 500552
Location: Texas
Offline

ALL THE GOOD ONES ARE TAKEN! <3

_________________
Image

To err is human, to err repeatedly means you are a stupid human!
Its not enough to be IN Texas, you have to be FROM Texas.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 4:29 pm  
User avatar

Rogue Knight
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 1:08 pm
Posts: 152
Location: NY USA
Offline

surprisingly i understood that

its is a emachine T1600 (I found it outside someones house near my mominlaw) it needed a new mb
mb is a l7vmm2
she bought the 1 gig on ebay I forget the name of it
both are pc2100

yes its a stuttering noise like when a cd is skipping kinda bad
I have no problem going into the bois

_________________
Zhava sword
Kagray bow/alchemy/cook
Davvi Drumheller mage
Lemmy tinker in training
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 12:34 am  
User avatar

Techno Vixen & Dustbunny Assassin
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 10:01 am
Posts: 665
Location: Playing with the hardware
Offline

Looking up on that mobo...the mobo site didn't say this, but I found thru vendor sites that the mobo will take up to 1gig of unbuffered, or 2gig of buffered (2.5V) mem.

I have a sneaking suspicion (could be wrong) it might be the 1G stick being high density...if you can get to the seller's listing it should say whether or not it is...normally it's in fine print lol...also check and see if they have a compatibility guarantee, and refund options.

The vast majority of ppl selling mem on ebay are selling hi-density chips, and alot of the time they end up as lil paperweights =(

http://reviews.ebay.com/Myth-Low-Densit ... 0001236178 (read 1st part)

Can anyone else think of anything??

_________________
Keeper of the Cutie Key, and the Oregano jars.
Connoisseur of Computerized CRACK!!!
I like spooning w/a certain big hairy drudge =P
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 12:55 am  
User avatar

Rogue Knight
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 1:08 pm
Posts: 152
Location: NY USA
Offline

pretty sure they are both unbuffered, i know the 1 gig should be i gave her the specs on what to look for and bid on. i will try to find the documentation on it

_________________
Zhava sword
Kagray bow/alchemy/cook
Davvi Drumheller mage
Lemmy tinker in training
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

World of Warcraft phpBB template "WoWMoonclaw" created by MAËVAH (EU-Illidan) - ex-MOONCLAW (EU-Sinstralis) (v3.0.0) - http://www.wowcr.net , World of Warcraft templates
© World of Warcraft and Blizzard Entertainment are trademarks or registered trademarks of Blizzard Entertainment, Inc. in the U.S. and/or other countries. wowcr.net is in no way associated with Blizzard Entertainment.
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group